Sevilla FC not joining European Super League

Spanish side Sevilla FC said they will not join the breakaway European Super League launched by 12 of Europe’s top clubs on Sunday.

Twelve of Europe’s top football clubs announced that they have agreed to form a new competition, the Super League, governed by their Founding Clubs.
AC Milan, Arsenal, Atletico Madrid, Chelsea FC, FC Barcelona, Inter Milan, Juventus, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid and Tottenham Hotspur have joined as Founding Clubs. Three more clubs will be invited to join before the opening season starts. 

“In light of the news regarding the creation of a new competition both organised and governed privately by certain European clubs from different countries, Sevilla FC’s Board wish to publicly state their complete rejection of a tournament based exclusively on economic parameters and outside of UEFA, an institution which brings together the different footballing associations of the continent,” the club said on their official website.

“A competition which involves private invitation goes against the spirit of sport in general and the ethos of football as we know it. This lack of competition goes completely against our DNA to Never Surrender and to set ourselves ever more ambitious goals, with the intention of achieving them out on the football pitch.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *